In 1577, Catherine De Medici bought a small estate on a hillside overlooking the Seine. The property was remodelled many times before being purchased by King Louis XIV in 1658 for his brother Philippe, Duke of Orleans. Antoine Le Pautre and Jules Hardouin-Mansart extended the château. André Le Nôtre landscaped the grounds. After a series of illustrious residents, including Marie-Antoinette, Napoleon Bonaparte and Napoleon III, the palace burned down on 13 October 1870.
Since the château was destroyed, the 460-hectare Parc has served as a special testament to the art and history of French gardens. It includes a variety of spaces, from the symmetrical garden famous for its water features and waterfall, a landscaped garden, a floral garden and wooded areas.
The education department invites visitors to discover a site that offers a combination of artistic heritage and natural spaces. Offering workshops and tours, the department seeks to teach students about the garden’s symbolic and artistic approaches, history, technology and environmental issues.
The National Domain of Saint-Cloud is also home to Le Piqueur educational farm where children aged 4 to 12 can come and learn about growing vegetables and understand the relations between humankind, animals and the environment.
The L'Enfance de l’Art association organises workshops to promote awareness of nature and the environment all year round.
+33 (0)1 46 02 24 53 www.fermedupiqueur.org